Severities, Priorities, & Statuses

In this article, we cover the following topics:

 


Component Status

In Viakoo, there are 4 different levels of severity whcih define the status of a component. 

  • Failed RedCross
  • Critical OrangeExclamation
  • Degraded YellowFlag
  • Okay GreyCheck

When it comes to infrastructure that has 'children' (ie servers that have components underneath them, sites have servers, and companies have sites) status propagates up by one less. So a 'Failed' Component will make its Server 'Critical', which will make its Site 'Degraded'.

 


 Ticket Prorities

For tickets, there are four priorities in ascending order of urgency:

  • Advisory
  • Warning
  • Critical
  • Failed

 


 Device Priorities

Devices such as Cameras, Access Controllers, Camera Streams, IoT Devices and Servers will have 3 priorities: CRITICAL, NORMAL, & IGNORE which are defined as follows:

- Tickets associated with these devices having trouble are given CRITICAL level ticket priority. In the Overview display, these devices are identified by a solid “star” icon and are sorted ahead of other streams by default.

- Tickets associated with these devices will open tickets at a WARNING level priority. As before, these streams are identified with a solid “square” icon.

- Streams set to IGNORE priority will still be tracked and hidden from the display unless a show "Ignore" checkbox is selected. However, issues with these streams do not open tickets when they fail, nor do they affect overall server- or site-level KPIs. IGNORE devices are identified in the overview display with a striped square to differentiate them from NORMAL streams.

Additionally, because camera streams are logical structures that define relationships between a camera and recording server that can be active or not active for a variety of reasons, the Viakoo system has 3 additional stream priorities that it might set which give the streams the same properties as IGNORE:

  1. UNUSED - if the stream is disabled for recording on first discovery and there is no evidence of data on disk for this stream.
  2. MOVED - if the stream has failed and another recorder is now recording a similar stream from the same device at the same site.
  3. REMOVED - if the stream is associated with a device that is no longer part of the configuration and hasn't recovered after a significant period of time. 

NOTE: By default, all streams are NORMAL streams. 

 


Changing Device Priorities

 To set priorities for servers, you must navigate to the 'Details' tab of a Site. 

You will see in the server table a gear preference_settings_icon.png icon that can take you into "Preference Setting" mode for the table. Entering "Preferences" mode on the server table will allow you to change priority settings for servers. 

Server_Priority_Settings.png

 

Once you are in "Preferences" mode, you will see a new set of controls which you will allow you to set your preferred priority. You can change the priority of an individual server by selecting from the priority pull-down on that server's row. Or you can check the left-hand selection box for several servers and then use the "Batch Edit" priority pull-down selector at the top of the table and click "Save".

 

The click on gear icon preference_settings_icon.png when you are done. 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk