Topics covered in this section are:
When a customer gets activated, Viakoo creates a secure container for the customer. This is usually a "Company" container that creates a secure space for that customer's data. A customer can create sub-containers called Regions which are similarly secure. To gain visibility to the data within a Company or a Region, users must be invited into the container by an administrative user. Moreover, what you can see and do within a container is based on permissions and privileges. Part of that is governed by what version of the Viakoo Product you have purchased and part of that is governed by your Role.
Currently, the system has the following roles:
- Member - User is allowed visibility to the configuration but is not allowed to change the configuration or add any users. Moreover, Members will only see tickets that they have been assigned. This role is useful to give to local service providers or vendors who are on a time-&-materials contract so you can constrain what problems they work on.
- Staff - User is given full visibility to the configuration, including all tickets, as well as is allowed to change the configuration such as removing devices, setting priorities, assigning tickets, adding or adjusting thresholds, et cetera. This role is not allowed to add or remove users from the configuration. This kind of role is useful to assign to technicians on your team.
- Administrator - User has all the privileges of Staff plus they are allowed to add and remove users to the configuration. There is one restriction: an Administrator is not allowed to add other Administrators to the container their invitation is associated. For example, if they have been added as a user at the Company-level, they can only add and remove Staff and Member users at the Company-level. However, their permissions grant them the ability to invite Administrator users in a sub-container like a Region or a Site.
- Administrator (FW) - These administrators are also allowed to create, publish and remove firmware profiles which enable device upgrades and define firmware compliance.
- Administrator (Owner) - This is a special administrator who has the authority to add and remove other Administrators at their level in the configuration. There can only be one Administrator (Owner) at any level in your organizational hierarchy.
- Admin Proactive - Please never use this designation. It is deprecated. Viakoo Proactive service customers are able to view the details tab of their company when they are a admin proactive..
- Realm Administrator - Has all the privileges of an administrator, plus they can create/add companies to their realm and any sub-realms in their dominion. This user also has the ability to change the Viakoo product policy of any company or site in their dominion.
The rest of this article shows you how to invite users into your context, either company, region or site, remove them and modify their roles.
There are three places where users can get invited into your configuration:
- From the Admin Tab where you want to add them into your configuration
- When you try to assign a ticket to someone who is not yet in your configuration
- From the User Management page from the Administration menu
Inviting Users from the Admin Tab
When you want to add users, click on the "ADMIN" tab to right of your Viakoo dashboard.
Go to the "INVITE USER" section of the Admin tab and fill out the form with their Email address, optionally their First Name, Last Name & Phone Number, and then select their Role.
Inviting Users from Ticket Assignment
When you are assigning a ticket to someone, you begin by entering their email address into the assignment dialogue. If it is an email address for someone who is not in your context, the Assignment dialogue converts into an "Invite&Assign" dialogue.
As before, you can enter their name, phone number and Role. You will then see the "Reassign" button convert to an "Add & Assign" button
This allows you to quickly add team members that you need to work on problems as the problems occur.
Invite Users from User Management Pane
The admin drop-down Menu is located in the upper right hand side of the screen in the banner at the top. If you click on your username, it will bring it up. It looks like the following:
- Click on your name in the upper right to bring up the admin menu.
2. Select "User Management" to get the User Management pane.
3. Once on the page, look for to bring up the Add User Dialogue
The new user should be invited into the service and receive an email from email@example.com which will prompt them to set up a password.
- Click on your name in the upper right to bring up the admin menu.
2. Select User Management to get to user administration.
3. Once on the page, find the name of the user you would like to remove, and click on the "Admin" that is present in the same row. This brings up a "User Admin" pop-up.
Depending on your privileges, from this point, you can change the person's Role on the team, or you can remove their access to your configuration.
As mentioned above, you have to be the Administrator (Owner) to remove or modify other Administrators in your context.
For security reasons, Administrators at a Company or Realm are not able to create or remove other Administrative users at the “top-level” with the exception of the “Owner” administrator. This “Owner” Administrator has the ability to create and remove other Administrators. This is a precaution to prevent an Administrator who is an employee from removing his or her supervisor’s credentials from their Viakoo domain. An Administrator at a Company is able to Add and Remove Administrators in a Region within their Company. This empowers the corporate level administrative staff to be empowered to add empowered administrators in local regions. They just aren't able to add or remove other Administrators at their own region unless they are also the "Owner" of that level in their hierarchy.
Determining the Current Owner
The owner attribute for a location will appear in the “Details” summary section.
This attribute does not need to be set for all domains. Administrators at a Company can still create and remove “Administrators” at the lower levels even if they are not the Owner. If no user has been assigned as the Owner, you will see “<default>” in the details tab.
You can check if you are the “Owner” by looking at the Notifications section under “My Profile”. If you are the Owner of your domain, it will say so in the “Role” column.
Finally, you can check if other users are assigned as the Owner from the User Administration pane. It will be visible in the “Role” column in a similar manner to “My Profile”.
Changing who is the “Owner”
In order to change who the Owner is a user must either be assigned as the current "Owner," or have Administrative privileges at a higher level. For example, an Administrator at the “Company” level can assign another Administrator as the “Owner” of one of the Regions below the company. To do this, Viakoo offers two controls:
- Through the “Edit Company | Region | Realm” section in the associated “Admin” tab,
- Through the “Admin” pop-up for a user in the “User Management” pane.
For the first method, navigate to the context (Realm, Company or Region) where you want to change the Owner, click on the “Admin” tab, then click on the “Edit” section.
Or you can change the Owner Attribute from the “User Management” pane by clicking on the the “Admin” link associated with the person you want to “make” the owner. This opens the user administration popup. If you are permitted to do so, it will show you the “Make Owner” checkbox.
In Viakoo, there are currently four different user roles: Member, Staff, Admin, and Realm_Admin. The latter being only available to users who have subscribed to a Private realm.
User Roles across the different bundles are the same, but are restricted by the product bundle you have subscribed to. Below is a user privileges matrix organized by product bundle: